Aiteo Cup: Bayelsa United Shocks Rivers United In Lagos, Set Up Final Date With Nasarawa United


Nigeria National League (NNL) side, Bayelsa United have qualified for its first Aiteo Federation cup final after a 1-0 triumph over Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) side, Rivers United in the semi-final.

Okardi Inikurogha’s goal in the 68th minute ensured that Bayelsa United will be playing the final of men’s football Aiteo Cup final for the first time after its women’s counterparts, Bayelsa Queens reached their seventh final where they will take on Lagos based side FC Robo Queens

Bayelsa United will face the 2016 finalist and another NPFL side, Nasarawa United in the final.

In the second final, Sunshine Stars and Nasarawa United played out a 2-2 draw after 90 minutes with Fuad Ekelojuoti and Adeniji scoring for Sunshine Stars while Silas Nwankwo and Chinedu Ohanachom finding the back of the net for Nasarawa United.

Nasarawa United edged Sunshine Stars 6-5 on penalties to get to the final for the first time since 2016 where the team lost on penalties to FC Ifeanyi Ubah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here