AITEO CUP: Injustice As Ebonyi State Champions Go Missing In Aiteo Cup Draws


The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday conducted the draws for the 2021 Aiteo Cup competition consisting of 32 teams which had been earlier submitted by State Football Association.

Consequently after the draws for one of the most important competition in the country, questions began to emerged as the Ebonyi State champions Cynosure FC of Abakaliki were found missing in the draws, reports.

It would be recalled that Cynosure had on Tuesday this week defeated Ngwa United on penalties to emerge champions of the State Aiteo Cup.

However, to the surprise of many, the Ebonyi State Champions were missing in the Aiteo Cup draws- instead Ngwa United who were the runner-up in the final were included.

A source at the Sunday Dankaro House of the NFF confirmed to that the name of Ngwa United was what the Ebonyi State FA submitted and further findings in Abakaliki revealed that the Cynosure FC may have been swallowed by the power tussle going on in state football Secretariat.

Exclusivenews also learnt that the FA Board members had rejected the FA Secretary appointed by the State government but prefer to work with the former FA secretary who had since retired from the Civil service, and has the backing of the FA Board to continue his job at the Secretariat.

This current unrest may have played out in the development that the FA board are distancing themselves from the finals organized in the State.

Reports also has it that top football stakeholders in Ebonyi State have concluded plans to stage a peaceful protest to the state Government as they seek justice for the inclusion of Cynosure Fc of Abakaliki


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here