Sports Commission: Kwara SWAN Hails Govt On Appointment Of Technocrats


The Kwara state chapter of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) has commended the state Governor, Mallam AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq on the appointment of technocrats as Chairman and members of the newly introduced Sports Commission.

Kwara Governor on Monday appointed Mallam Bola Mogaji as the Chairman of Kwara State Sports Commission, and Dr Steve Abiodun Olarinoye as the Director-General.

Also appointed as members of the Commission are 1985 Golden Eaglets goalkeeper, Dele Abubakar; Abdullahi Lade; Lanre Elijah; Makanjuola Monisola Yemisi; Roseline Raphael; Balikis Abolore Abdulkadir; Bakare Salmon Adebayo; and Ojukaiye Adedoyin Omolade, a senior civil servant, who is the secretary of the Commission.

In a statement signed by the Assistant Secretary of SWAN, Ayodeji Ismail, the body commended Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq for assembling the crack team, and also urged government to fully support the Commission, so as to justify the importance of its introduction.

SWAN congratulated the Chairman, The Director-General and other members of the Commission, charging them to work extra hard to justify government’s confidence in their abilities to add value to Kwara sports.

SWAN equally commended the Kwara House of Assembly for their efforts at raising the bar in sports development in the state with the introduction of the Sports Commission.

With its introduction, the Sports Commission will now replace the Sports Council, and also assume all the cabinet responsibilities of the Ministry of Sports.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here