27 C
New York
Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Buy now

AMAPRO Football Championship: Toss of coin hands KFA quarterfinal place as NPFL, NNL All Stars sail through



The Matchday Three of 2024 AMAPRO Football Championship saw thrilling matches and exciting results with 13 goals scored that also produced quarterfinalists.

Defending champions Abrayasports opened the day with 1-1 draw against Teworh SC.

Godwin James scored for Teworh SC in the 38th minute, before Atoyebi Mujeeb equalized for Abraysports in the 57th minute.

Da Faria secured a narrow 1-0 win over House of Prayer, thanks to Yinka Philemon’s early goal in the 21st minute.

AMAPRO SSA and Unicorn FC shared the spoils with a 1-1 draw. Shuaib Muyieeb scored an own goal in the 31st minute and Jamiu Issa equalized for Unicorn FC in the 36th minute.

HMK FC and Gateway FA played out a goalless draw in match that produced numerous scoring chances but failed to make them count.

NPFL All Stars needed a late miracle from Samson Ayodeji to beat Laycon FA 2-1.

Wasiu Jimoh converted from the spot in the 26th minute to put NPFL All Stars the lead, Kehinde Taofiq equalized for Laycon FA just before halftime.

However, Oyedeji scored a late winner for NPFL All Stars to see them through to the quarterfinal.

Dickalo FA edged Kasam FA 2-1, with Abdullahi Umar Fatiu and Oke Samson Olamide scoring for Dickalo FA while Fatiu Olamide scored a late consolation for Kasam.

Ibadan City SC and NNL All Stars settled for a stalemated 0-0 draw.

KFA and WonderXChange also drew 1-1 in the final match of group stages.

Mighty Aderibigbe put WonderXChange ahead just before the halftime before Azeez Sodiq equalized for KFA in the second half to force a draw.

It required a toss of coin to determined who qualified to the quarterfinals between KFA and WonderXchange who tied on points, goals and fairplay considerations. It was KFA who were lucky to sail through.

Dickalo FA, KFA, Unicorn FC, Da Faria, NNL All Stars, Abraysports FC, Gateway FA and NPFL All Stars have all booked a spot in the quarterfinals of the 9th edition of the AMAPRO Football Championship.

All matches will be decided on Friday at the Kwara Football Academy, KFA Pitch, Ilorin.

This year’s edition of AMAPRO Football Championship is proudly sponsored by Bet9ja Foundation and collaborations with Hudl Wyscout, 4th Brother Clothing, Darajeph Technologies, Stefolga Group.

Quarterfinal Fixtures

Abraysports vs Unicorns – 8am

Dickalo FA vs KFA – 10am

Gateway FA vs NNL All Stars – 2pm

Da Faria FA vs NPFL All Stars – 4pm

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles