Bayelsa State Taekwondo Wins Overall Best Team National President Cup Open Championship.


The 2023 National President Cup Open Championship organized by the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation came to conclusion on Sunday night as Bayelsa State Taekwondo team emerges as the Overall Best Team after claiming top position with 2 Gold, 3 Silver and 4 Bronze on the medal table.

The keenly contested 3 days competition which had athletes competing in Kyroigi, Poomsae and Para, saw team Bayelsa, Team Edo and Team Oyo State Taekwondo finishing in the top 3 position.

Speaking after lifting the trophy presented to the Bayelsa State Taekwondo team, Head Coach of the team Coach Judith D. Willaims described the success as a plus for her carrier.

“Word can`t express how I feel but I must first thank God for the success we recorded here even as much that this is my first outing as the head coach of team Bayelsa state Taekwondo team, looking back to were we are coming from due to the fact that we have lost hope of coming to participate at this National President Cup Open Championship but I must specially thank our director of sports in our state for the supports given to us and to also the working and committed president of the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation for creating this kind of championship for athletes to show their skill”.

Coach Judith Williams then gave a pass mark on the organization to the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation toward the organization of National President Cup Open Championship.

“I want to sincerely commend the federation for the good work put in place for this championship, for me to rate the tournament, I will give them an A using the academic team because there were no issues recorded between the coaches and the referees even among the athletes. This championship is a success”.

Chidinma Favour from Team Edo State won the overall best female player while Feysal Hamidou from Niger Republic won the Overall Best player for the National President Cup Open Championship.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here