The Ancient Intercontinental Cup


The modern day FIFA Club World Cup, replaced Intercontinental Cup in 2005, which was usually played by only teams – the winner of UEFA Champions League and Copa Libertadores.

The Intercontinental Cup was founded in 1960 , and Real Madrid won the first edition, while Porto of Portugal defeated Colombian side once -caldas 8-7 on penalties , after full-time draw in 2004 edition.

Stats of the competition from 1960 -2004

25 different clubs won the competition during its 45 editions.

Argentinian clubs won the most cups– 9 trophies.

Italian clubs won — 7 trophies.

Brazilian teams — had 6 victories.

The most successful Confederation is CONMEBOL- 22 wins & runners- up 21 times. While European football Confederation (UEFA) won the competition 21 times & runners–up 22 times.

Fabiyi Ridwan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here