Akwa Ibom Football Association Elects Samuel Umoh As New Chairman 





By Bassey Ibiatisuho


A new leadership board for the Akwa Ibom State Football Association has been elected, with Samuel Umoh emerging as the Chairman of the Board.


The Chairman of the Electoral Committee for the 2024 Akwa Ibom State Football Association Election, Hon. Saturday Akpan announced the results of the elections held at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo.


He announced that Umoh polled a total of 25 votes to beat his only opponent, Emmanuel Okon who scored 12 votes.


Raymond Essien garnered 21 votes for the Vice Chairmanship position to beat John Ekpenyong who got 16 votes.


Other board members elected include, Obot Udoka, Ifiok Umanah, Friday Ekpo, Emmanuel Eduoku, Felix Udoh, Orok Orok and Anthony Etim.


In his acceptance speech, the newly elected Akwa Ibom FA Chairman, Samuel Umoh, who expressed gratitude to God for making the election a reality, said he was happy not only for his victory at the poll but because peace has finally returned to Akwa Ibom FA.


He expressed his optimism for football development in the state, promising that he will not disappoint Akwa Ibom people and the Nigeria Football Federation.


Umoh, an ex-footballer who has played professionally within and outside Nigeria, thanked those who supported his victory and extended an olive hand to those who lost, stating his commitment to the growth and development of football in Akwa Ibom State.


The representative of the Nigeria Football Federation’s President, Otunba Dele Ajayi, praised the transparency and success of the election process. He reiterated the commitment to work with the Akwa Ibom State Football Association to develop grassroots football and provide opportunities for young talent


Several dignitaries were present at the election event, including member representing South-South in the NFF Board, Otuekong Nse Essien, Director of Sports in the Ministry of Youth Development and Sports, Mrs Brigitte Oton, Chairman, Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly Committee on Sports, Hon. Uwemedimo Asuquo, State Chairman, Sport Writers Association of Nigeria – SWAN, Comrade Emmanuel Akpan, State Chairman Nigeria Union of Journalists, Comrade Amos Etuk, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here